Inspirational students celebrated at Further Education Awards

The success and achievements of Warrington & Vale Royal College’s inspirational students has been celebrated at the college’s annual Further Education Awards.

Friends, family, staff, fellow students and local dignitaries gathered at St Elphin’s Church in Warrington on Thursday 13th June to honour students from across the curriculum who have gone above and beyond both inside and outside of college to become exemplary students.

The ceremony was opened by Reverend Stewart McTaggart and Principal & Chief Executive Nichola Newton who delivered a speech about the college’s recent achievements.

A total of 50 awards were handed out on the night, including outstanding achievement awards, work placement awards and a series of special awards.

The awards not only reflect the hard work and dedication of students and their tutors but also the commitment to excellence in their studies in vocational qualifications and apprenticeships.

Culinary Skills student James Tomkins was named Overall Outstanding Student of the Year.

The previous Lymm High School student was presented the award by Tim Coulman, store manager of Sainsbury’s Warrington, the sponsors of this special award.

James was nominated by his tutor Scott Surtees, who described him as the “next ‘big thing’ in the industry”, commenting: “It’s not often you get to teach someone that you know will be one of the next ‘big things’ in your industry but with James I really feel this is possible. To have been part of his promising career is what makes teaching so rewarding.”

Earlier in the year, James and three of his classmates won the gold medal and the ‘Best-in-Class 2019’ accolade competing in the Welsh International Culinary Championships Inter-College Team Challenge. Scott added: “For a student to step up to that level within his first year at college is nothing short of remarkable.”

Three special recognition awards were received by students who have excelled academically and provided inspiration to others in their chosen profession.

The Nathan Taylor Memorial Award was given to exemplary student Jessica Gilmore, described as a young lady that has surpassed all expectations and embodies exactly what a Health and Social Care student should be.

Brickwork student Tyler Thomason received the Elliot Award for Progress in Construction & Technology in recognition of his attitude to learning and developing his own skillset, which has led him to create within himself a student the college could not be more proud of.

The Hilary Tucker Award went to Maria Clerkin, who has worked exceptionally hard on her Art & Design course. Maria was described as a highly talented and dedicated individual who is an inspiration to her fellow students.

The awards closed with the Student Vote of Thanks, given by Student President Jake Love, who was also recognized on the evening for his contribution to the student council.

Congratulations to all of our winners.

Outstanding Achievement Awards
Adult Community Learning – Matthew Pimblett
Art & Design – Carl Malapitan
Business – Setara Nazir
Brickwork – Evan Panting
Carpentry & Joinery – Sam Quigley
Childcare – Rebecca Lee
Computing & ICT – Emily Freeman
Graphics – Jacy Hughes
Digital & Media – Ian Parker
Electrical Installation – Ethan Kenny-Jones
Engineering – Adam Mitchell
English – Jordan Ashcroft
Foundation Learning – Aleeha Sadiq
Hair & Beauty – Anna Jablonska
Health & Social Care – Samantha Crowley
Hospitality & Catering – Thomas Purslow
Maths – Lewis Lacey
Performing Arts – Alisha Thompson
Plumbing – Jack McGarry
Public Services – Charlotte Wild-Redmond
Science – Lauren Scholes
Sport – Jade Harrison
Travel & Tourism – Alexandra Rapiteanu

Outstanding Work Placement Awards
Art & Design – Sophia Cane
Carpentry & Joinery – Zac Singleton
Computing & ITC – James Poole
Electrical Installation – Ethan Woodier
Motor Vehicle – Rowan Barry
Performing Arts – George Moore
Sport – Mariana Braz

Outstanding Apprentice of the Year Awards
Business Administration – Jack Sherwood-Hodgson
Construction – Shaun Tyrer
IT – Adem Sen
Engineering – Kieran Hewson
Hair & Beauty – Jessica Wall
Health & Social Care – Jodie Cunningham
Motor Vehicle – Jamie Thirsk

Nathan Taylor Memorial Award
Allanah Bebbington

Elliot Award for Progress in Construction & Technology
Tyler Thomason

Hilary Tucker Award
Maria Clerkin

Overall Outstanding Student of the Year Award
James Tomkins